Poetry Workshop Challenge: Reworking Folklore

Death Waiting

 

In the market. Can you see? Can you see?

White men, white horses, send servants to me,

Old merchants, old men, hiding in the crowds

all men seeing what they cannot outrun.

Now that my business in Bagdad is done

 

In the market, in the streets, you see me.

The young men, the rich men, all try to flee.

In the market, I am here, surprised

To see, that you would try to outrun me.

 

I do not stay, and I do not follow.

I don’t need to know where you come from.

Now that my business in Bagdad is done

I am the thing you can never outrun.

 

On the roads, on your horses, do you think

You won’t find me? Rich men, greedy men

Find me tonight in new marketplaces

Where I always knew, I would come for you.

 

On Earth, I saw you there, I see you here

Now that my business in Bagdad is done

And now you see you could never outrun

Your appointment with Death in Samarra.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

