Poem for a young Jew

Timeless

 

Do you say you think that I look timeless?

Dark rings, dark circles, shadows round and round

My brow lined with other people’s secrets

She tells me Jewish men never look young.

 

Is it the beard that hides my too round cheeks?

Or the scalp peeking through my too thin hair?

The way I press my lips too tightly shut

 

You say that Jewish men never look young?

I see small faces, small hands, small mouths ask

if culture makes religion makes race?

Do you really think that they all look old?

 

They look young to me.

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

